themed image


EBFA Next Meeting- AGM

15-Jul-24 Doubletree by Hilton St Anne’s Wokingham , RG40 1ST




EBFA History



EBFA History of the Alliance (League) 2022-23

East Berks Junior 7-a-side Association


In the summer of 1992 our national football squad had performed abysmally. The FA and the press called for a drastic review of coaching strategies for youngsters if England was to produce stars of the future. Following this debate letters were sent out to all clubs in the Bracknell area inviting them to take part in a 7-a-side league. Eight teams at the under 8 level joined for the 1992/93 season.


Once managers, players and parents had sampled this break from tradition, the virtues of the small-sided game were clear to see, and the development of the East Berks Junior 7-a-side Association was swift.


In 1993 the under 9s were included and 1994 saw the introduction of under 7s. By 1995 there were enough teams for two divisions of under 9s, and by 1996 the under 8s also had two divisions, and the under 10s was formed. 1997 saw the formation of the under 11s, and 1998 saw the introduction of the under 12s playing 9-a-side football as part of the East Berks fixture programme.


East Berk Junior League (EBJL) / East Berks Youth Football League (EBYFL)


In 2004 the Association will became the East Berk Junior League in preparation for the 2006 Merger with the East Berks Intermediate League into East Berks Youth Football League, with Junior, and Intermediate Sections, offering football from U7s up to U18s.


2008 also saw the launch of the 1st East Berks Girls Junior section at U10s with 7 teams completing for League and Cup honours.


In the Summer of 2009 East Berks Youth Football League (EBYFL) was the first league in the County to be awarded the status of FA Charter Standard League.  In early 2010 East Berks Youth Football League (EBYFL) held its first ever FA Charter Standard League Training and Development Day which was attended by over 150 coaches and was judged a huge success.


At the end of the 2009-2010 season East Berks Youth Football League (EBYFL) was awarded the national FA Respect and Fair Play Award which was presented at the FA Cup Final by HRH Prince William.


At the start of the 2012/13 season the league introduces 5v5 format for U7s and 9v9 format for U11 and U12 age groups


East Berks Football Alliance (EBFA).


2013/14 season sees 5v5 format extended to U8s, the introduction of U21 11v11 format playing on a Sunday afternoon and renaming of East Berks Youth Football League (EBYFL) to East Berks Football Alliance (EBFA).


From eight clubs, to a League in 2022 which will sees in January 2023, 923 teams and provides a football environment for over 12,400+ boys and girls, a true success story, where football in the community is definitely the winner.